Tour of Homes
The annual Tour of Homes is the major fundraiser for the Greene County Historical Society. Our next tour will be held October 2020. Check back soon for more information!
Children under 12 $10
Groups of 10 or more $15
Tickets will be available the weekend of the tour at the Vaughn-Morrow House:
310 Main Street, Eutaw, AL 35462
For advance ticket info, call (205) 292-0015 or (205) 500-0780.
Eutaw boasts 27 structures listed on the National Regisister of Historic Places by the U.S. Department of the Interior and many more eligible for nomination. Everhope Plantation is on both the State of Alabama and the National Registers of Historic Places. Find a sample of these historic gems that have been included in the tour below (click photos for descriptions):
Gardner Elliott, a merchant in Eutaw, purchased his three acre lot from Asa White in late 1847. The framed story-and-a-half rests over a brick basement. Two rooms on the main level flank a center hall, and upstairs are two loft rooms. A square-piered portico with pediment probably preceded the dormers and railing atop the portico. As of 2015 this home is being saved by extensive interior and exterior restoration.
This classic Greek Revival plantation home was built for James Innes Thornton, Alabama’s third Secretary of State. The plantation’s schoolhouse was built in 1845 and remains today. The family cemetery, 175 yards east of the house, commemorates Thornton, his wife, 4 of his 11 children, and 3 grandchildren. 1600 of the original 2600 acres remain in the family, owned by his 4th great grandson. Beautifully preserved, it sits atop a hill providing breathtaking views for miles in every direction.
Lawyer, statesman, and Confederate war hero Stephen F. Hale, for whom Hale County was named, called this home. This was the first of the popular story-and-a-half Greek Revival cottages built in Eutaw. Many homes of this type have as much or more room than the pillared mansions. 4 bedrooms were built on the 1st level, arranged neatly on either side of a brick patio. A continuous porch surrounds the patio on 3 sides, on to which each of the bed chambers opens.
Debra and Ernest Collins reside in this plantation-style home. Pleasant Ridge is located about 20 minutes from downtown Eutaw heading towards Aliceville on Hwy 14. Cotton was king in Pleasant Ridge and has been a presence for approximately 200 years. The beautiful Corinthian-style columns remain a Pleasant Ridge landmark for all passers-by.
Phillip Schoppert was living in this house when he was listed in Snedecor’s 1856 directory as a builder in Eutaw. The original house plan was similar to Grassdale, with Italian roof of the Duncan Dew House and chimneys reminiscent of his native South Carolina. Edward Ustick obtained the house in 1899, at which time the porch was added, and other features changed. This home was saved from demolition by the Greene County Historic Society and is in the beginning stages of restoration.
The Bambarger residence was built was built in 1914 by an ancestor of Mr. Jim Bambarger. Constructed near the old Fortson’s Mills, it has been used by the Fathery and Childers families as a hunt club since the 1980s. The barn located on the west side of the property is said to have housed all the mules in the area, as it has a large hay loft and cribs for at least 40 head. Some mill stones, previously used to grind grain, have been located on the property, most likely used at Fortson's Mills.
This Greek Revival structure was built on its present site in 1851. Its predecessor was actually built in the 1820’s on the corner of the old Mesopotamia Cemetery, about a mile down the road. The congregation rebuilt and moved into town when Eutaw began to prosper.